Using technology for student assessment

https://educationtothecore.com/2016/02/using-technology-for-student-assessments/

Student assessment is one of the most important and useful tool in teaching. Teachers have to know where their students are and what they know in order to make planning decisions. I make sure to use some form if formative assessment every day in class, but sometimes, I feel like some students get over looked or hide out. Using technology is a great way to formatively assess students. This article lists some great tools that I have started using in my classroom. I love using them because most of the tools automatically grade them and organize the data for you. It does not take me long to pull up each classes results and see who ‘got it’ and who did not. I use that data for RTI and pacing decisions. It has changed the way I assess my students.

A assessment tool that is popular amongst my students is Kahoot. Using Kahoot motivates my students and they are always engaged when it is used. This tool sets a time limit on each question. It is best used with short answer questions and true and false questions. In math, I use them to build fluency. The data will tell me the time it takes each student to answer and who didn’t answer. It also lets me know the most missed questions so that I can review them before moving on.

Published by emilyoglee

I am a 7th grade teacher with a passion for mathematics, cheer coach to a national winning team, and soon to be wife! I am a MAT candidate.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started